You
might have read that from 30 March on, all Facebook accounts will have the
Timeline lay-out. Timeline makes is easy to find things like events or wall posts,
but it will also be easier for friends/strangers to search your profile by
date. Here are some privacy tips to lock down your profile.
Make your Timeline private
You can
make your Facebook profile or Timeline private by following the steps bellow:
1.
Go
to ‘’Privacy Settings’’
2.
Edit
settings for ‘’How you connect’’
3.
Change
settings for ‘’Who can post on you Timeline?’’
4.
Change
settings for ‘’Who can see posts by others on your Timeline’’ from ‘’Public’’
to ‘’Friends’’
1.
Go
to ‘’Privacy settings’’
2.
Go
to Edit settings for ‘’ How tags work’’
3.
Change
settings for ‘’Maximum Timeline visibility’’ from ‘’Public’’ to ‘’Friends’’
(You can also choose to change the settings to ‘’Only
me’’, then you will be the only one who sees the posts)
1.
Go
to ‘’Privacy settings’’
2.
Manage
past post visibility by clicking ‘’Limit the audience for past posts’’
Now all past post to Friends-only, even if you
initially made them public will be changed.
Hide past posts
It might
take a while to hide all unwanted posts, it depends on the number of posts you
want to hide.
1.
Click
on the first year of your Timeline and you will see all highlights from that
year (or months)
2.
Click
on the upper right corner of each ‘’highlight’’ post and choose ‘’Hide from
Timeline’’ or ‘’Delete post’’
3.
After
you hide or delete the ‘’highlight’’ posts, you’ll need to click on each month
and hide or delete all of those posts. Continue doing this, until you have
hidden or deleted all the unwanted posts
4.
Ocassionally
items, like friend acceptences, will be grouped together and it is possible to
hide them all at once
Delete your posts from other people’s Timelines
You are
also visible on the walls of your friends, but have no control over it. It is
possible to remove your posts from someone else’s Timeline.
1.
Go
to Timeline
2.
Click
‘’Activity Log’’ and you will see all of your posts (comments, likes, events
etc. organized by date)
3.
To
see just your posts, Click ‘’All’’ in the upper right corner and choose ‘’Your
posts’’
4.
Delete
the posts which you don’t want them to show up anymore

