Pagina's

woensdag 29 februari 2012

Today is the last day to delete your Google browsing history


Google will change its privacy policy on 1 March. From this date on, Google will be able to combine your information from Google+, Gmail and YouTube.
Before 1 March, the browser history of  Google+, Gmail and YouTube were separated. Criticizers of the new policy argue that this information should stay separated, because  the search history could contain private content. If the information of the three sites will be combined, Google will built a permanent profile of you including your age, gender, religion, health, hobbies and location.

The site’s Mat Honan wrote: ‘It means that things you could do in relative anonymity today, will be explicitly associated with your name, your face, your phone number. 'If you use Google's services, you have to agree to this new privacy policy. It is an explicit reversal of its previous policies.’

If you want to stymie Google from building this permanent profile, you can delete your browsing history. It will limit your information on Google’s services. 

Three simple steps to do it:
1.    Go to the Google homepage and sign into your account. Use the dropdown menu under your name in the upper right-hand corner to access your settings. Click on 'account settings'.

2.    Find the section called 'Services' and you'll see a link to 'View, enable, or disable web history', shown in the red box below. Click on it. 

3.    You can remove all of your search details by clicking on 'Remove Web History', shown in the red box below. Once you have done this your history will remain  disabled until you turn it back on.


Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2105435/Three-simple-steps-delete-Google-browsing-history--late.html#ixzz1nmS1nTti

Geen opmerkingen:

Een reactie posten